MS Dhoni to lead India in Zimbabwe, uncapped Shardul Thakur in Test squad

first_imgMahendra Singh Dhoni will lead a 16-member squad for India’s short limited-overs tour of Zimbabwe from June 11-22.Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Suresh Raina, R Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja have been rested.Yuvraj Singh, who was part of the T20 side since the tour of Australia early this year and played crucial knocks in the Asia Cup T20 and the World T20, has also not been named in the squad. The flamboyant all-rounder missed India’s semi-final defeat against West Indies in the World T20 but made a decent comeback during the Indian Premier League for Sunrisers Hyderabad.  (Also read: BCCI to advertise for Team India coach) India’s tour of Zimbabwe will comprise three ODIs on June 11, 13 and 15 and three T20s which have been scheduled for June 18, 20 and 22. All the matches would be played in Harare.India had last played one-day internationals against Australia in January, losing the five-match series 1-4. They have since only played T20 Internationals and had a remarkable run till their defeat in the World T20 semi-final. (Also read: Ravi Shastri’s Team India contract unlikely to be renewed) BCCI sources had earlier said the selectors would not consider the seniors for Zimbabwe as the board felt they needed some rest after a long cricket season. However, it was reported that the selectors had left it to Dhoni to decide whether or not he would be touring with a young team.Squad for Zimbabwe tour: MS Dhoni (Captain and wicketkeeper), Lokesh Rahul, Faiz Fasal, Manish Pandey, Karun Nair, Ambati Rayudu, Rishi Dhawan, Axar Patel, Jayant Yadav, Dhawal Kulkarni, Jaspreet Bumrah, Barinder Sran, Mandeep Singh, Kedar Jadhav, Jaydev Unadkat, Yuzvendra Chahaladvertisement#TeamIndia for #ZimvInd ODIs and T20Is @msdhoni to lead the 16-member team BCCI (@BCCI) May 23, 2016SHARDUL THAKUR EARNS MAIDEN TEST CALLThe squad for the four-Test series against West Indies was also announced. The Kohli-led team will tour the Caribbean Islands in July-August this year. Pacer Shardul Thakur has earned his maiden Test call-up while Mohammed Shami, who did not play international cricket since the 2015 World Cup, made a return to the Test side.There were no major surprises in the Test team otherwise. Murali Vijay and Dhawan have been picked as specialist openers while the middle-order will be shored up by the likes of Cheteshwar Pujara, Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, Rohit and Lokesh Rahul. Wriddhiman Saha, who has been the first-choice wicketkeeper since Dhoni’s retirement from Test cricket, retained his place.Squad for West Indies: Virat Kohli (Captain), Murali Vijay, Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Rohit Sharma, Wriddhiman Saha (wicketkeeper), R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Ishant Sharma, Mohammad Shami, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Umesh Yadav, Shardul Thakur, Stuart Binny, Amit Mishra.#TeamIndia for #WIvInd Tests – @imVkohli to lead 17-member team BCCI (@BCCI) May 23, 2016last_img read more